The Tory Research Impact Network (TRIN) and its committee work in close partnership with the PSA Conservatism Studies Group (CSG). The TRIN is chaired by Dr Anthony Ridge-Newman, co-convenor of the CSG. The 16-member TRIN committee includes Prof Tim Bale, Dr Danielle Beswick, Dr David Torrance, Prof Agnès Alexandre-Collier, Owen Meredith, Dr Carlotta Redi, David Jones MP and Margaret Mitchell MSP.

One of the Government’s agendas in relation to academic research has been to place an increasing emphasis on ‘impact’ from scholarly publications. Developing the TRIN committee is part of Dr Ridge-Newman’s response to this.

The TRIN committee is a central hub that helps facilitate pathways to impact for a wider network of scholars, for example, CSG members, and political participants with interests in or links to British Conservatism and the study of it.

The TRIN and CSG impact events will aim to connect the work of scholars to that of the relevant party participants in order to help develop ongoing and mutually beneficial research impact strategies.

As a member of the CSG you will be welcome to participate in the TRIN’s activities.


Tory Research Impact Network (TRIN)


(Name – Intuitional Affiliation – Research Expertise/Role)

TRIN Chair

Dr Anthony Ridge-Newman, Liverpool Hope University, Tory Party and Media


TRIN Committee (Academic Researchers)

Prof Tim Bale, Queen Mary, University of London, British Conservative Party

Prof Agnès Alexandre-Collier, University of Bourgogne, British Conservative Party

Dr Danielle Beswick, Birmingham University, Tories and International Development

Dr Stephen Kelly, Liverpool Hope University, Thatcherism and Ireland

Dr Alan Convery, Edinburgh University, Tories in Scotland and Wales

Dr David Torrance, House of Commons Library, Devolution and Constitution

Nina Rogers, Liverpool Hope University, PhD Candidate, Thatcherism

Luke Moore, Oxford University, PhD Candidate, Tories and the EU


TRIN Honorary Committee (British Conservative Party Advisors)

Dr Carlotta Redi, Conservative Campaign HQ, Director International Development

David Jones MP, Conservative Party, former Brexit Minister and Secretary of State for Wales

Margaret Mitchell MSP, Scottish Conservative Party, Member of Scottish Parliament

Cllr Simon Baynes, Welsh Conservative Party, councillor and campaigner


TRIN Honorary Committee (Tory Affiliate Groups/Advisors)

Patrick O’Sullivan, Parliament Street, Chief Executive

Owen Meredith, Tory Reform Group, Chairman

Adrian Pascu-Tulbure, Treasury, government official